Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

It is not uncommon to see people agree that teachers’ salaries should be tied to students’ academic performance. Most people likened this statement with how employees in corporate organization are evaluated based on the company’s profit figures or their ability to meet up with their key performance indicators. However, academic world differs greatly, and teachers should not be held fully responsible for student’s academic performance. The reason behind my stance is delineated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, Teachers are employed to instruct, encourage, and instil knowledge on students ‘willing’ to learn. Let us bear in mind that, learning is a psychological concept and cannot be forced. A student who naturally hates studies would report a poor performance for his inefficiencies. If in this situation arises the teacher who taught the student will likely go home with no paycheck at the end of pay day. For instance, While I was at the university, the head of department instructed the students that they can report any lecturer who is not meeting up to standard or inefficient. Due to this instruction, most student used this opportunity to abscond from lectures. During semester exam, they would claim they were not taught what is been asked in the exam. The Lecturers would have been in trouble, safe for those few good students who stood up for these poor lecturers left in the mercy of unserious students.

Of course, I agree that teachers should be held responsible to students’ academic performance as some teachers can be nonchalant. However, teachers are just like any other worker who are employed to instruct and not to guarantee academic performance. In fact, student’s academic performance nis largely determined by his parent or guardian. These people play a major role in the life of this kids, when a student is emotionally and mentally disturbed, poor academic performance in inevitable. An example of a child who has always been the best student in his class suddenly became the top bottom of the class. Upon investigation, they realized his parents were going through a rough divorce. This situation affected his performance and his human relation at school. So, in this situation, the teacher’s salary would have suffered from such student poor performance, most especially caused by factors beyond the teacher’s control.

Lastly, teaching is an art, it cannot be forced. Some students deliberately would punish their teachers if they realised their performance is tied to teacher’s salaries. They would likely become very subjective, in the sense that, they will deliberately perform well in the courses of some of their favourite teachers and not perform well in some courses who they don’t have a like for. All this in a bid to punish teachers they do not like. I will not forget to add that, some teachers as well, because they know their income depends on fantastic academic performance, they become subjective in their marking guilde and decides to score all the students well. Even if most of the student performed poorly. This they do in other to keep their paycheck intact.

Capping it all, I agree teachers plays important role in the academic performance of students, but the idea that teachers’ salary should be largely influenced by student performance is subjective and not a proper means of rewarding labour.