Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.
The concept of salary and the work of a teacher should not be mixed, in this essay I will justify why a teacher's salary should not be based on a student's academic
performance.
Salary is a great motivation for anyone to work and give their best irrespective of the difficulties the person faces, somehow more work is justifiable with a higher salary,
and the idea of a performance-based salary sounds lucrative to most of employers. A performance-based salary motivates an individual to bring out their best and
push their limits. For instance, workers in a garment factory get their salary based on the number of clothing pieces they work on, this drives employees to work better and
efficiently, increasing the factory's revenue and their salary as well.
However, a teacher can not be compared to any other employee working in a private or government organization, this is because a teacher deals with young minds who are
volatile and yet to shape a perspective of the world. Hence, a teacher is not only required to have expertise in a subject but also in personnel skills,
have a calm mind and most importantly be able to adapt teaching according to the student.
In fact, the effect teachers have on their students is subjective for each student, mainly because the time they spend with the teacher is just a small portion of their day,
they are exposed to different environments too, home and friends. So, how a student is performing academically depends not only on the teacher but also on parents and
friends, and since a teacher does not control all the aspects that define the academic potential of a student, it would be wrong to pay the teacher according to the
student's performance.
Some might say that this move will motivate a teacher to focus on weak students more, rather than just giving up on them. We are forgetting that the only path to success
is not solely through books, we have sports, music, and arts we well. Considering the student's point of view, there is a negative effect on them as well, they may start to
resent a few of the students just because they are not doing well in the class, and this will lead to the teacher directly or indirectly words or actions demoralizing
the students and purely judging them based on marks. A better idea would be to give bonuses or awards based on the performance of the class not only in paper-based exams
but in the field or art section too, with this model, a teacher will try to channel more energy toward the overall excellence of the class.
To sum up, taking into account all the factors, there are minimal positive effect and too many adverse effects in solely considering academic results while deciding
the paycheck of a teacher.