Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technology has simplified our lives by freeing up our time, connecting us to one another, and making information easily accessible.

Time is the most valuable resource that a person has. It is constantly running out and has no replacement. The advent of technologies such as airplanes has made it so that people can travel from one place to another in a matter of hours or days rather than weeks or months. In serving as the replacement to typewriters, computers have saved countless hours of re-typing entire papers to fix small errors. These examples are just a fraction of the many ways that technology has freed up our time in ways that allow for the simple pleasures in life such as pursuing hobbies or spending quality time with loved ones.

This quality time with those we care about can happen in many ways, but technology has made it so that we are not limited to bonding only with those who are in the same physical space as us. Rather, it has connected us globally in ways that make maintaining relationships easier. This connection not only fosters close connections between those we already know, but also allows for us to get to know people from around the world without ever needing to invest the financial capital to travel to a new place.

In the same way that technology removes many barriers to relationships with people in a variety of places, it also provides access to information that was once totally inaccessible. Someone may not have a library in their town, but their smart phone provides them access to books, music, and videos that teach them about the cochinil dye from Mexico or the trade wars being started by the US. One could imagine that this view into a world unknown could make someone's life more complicated by giving them a taste of what they are missing without allowing them full entrance. This is not a convincing argument because without technology one might still have a sense that there is more in the world than what is in front of them.