Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological advancements can be seen growing at an exponential rate since mid 1970's. This prolific rate of growth accounts for the direct relationship between the individual's increase in demand and supply. Technology is an automated tool which has comforted our lives in a very positive way.

One side of the coin can be visualised from the perspective of a consumer. The MNC invested in IT industries in many third world countries which perhaps led to increase in demand of skilled technical experts. As the demand increased, the income of these experts saw a massive growth. As suggested by the statistics of India 2019, an average income of IT expert is around 15 lacs per annum which is almost double of what graduates of other departments receive. This increase in the income led to more consumption of goods, and indeed these experts being fascinated by new technology, started investing more in this sector and accrued huge amounts of lucre.

The above statistics just accounts for 15% of the total world population indicating that while this community faced a gigantic increase in their incomes and respective standards of living, but on the other hand, the rest 85% of the population faced a massive hit. Technology automated everything starting from machinations to robots which could easily replace humnas if trained well. This led to replacement of the manual labour, which became a major problem for the third world countries as they accounts for the mojority of population in the world. In late 2000's, the whole world witnessed recession period for almost 3yrs. Though stocks and bonds invested in the technology, helped increase the GDP of the world by 6%, the unemployement led to a decrease of 34% of the total GDP accounting for the greatest depression ever seen in the history.

Furthermore, it not only affected the profitable sectors, but also had a negative impact on the people's health. In 2006, there was an increase of about 12% cases registered in the hospitals worldwide. During this period of time, there was no epidemic or any natural disaster which could possibly account for such a drastic increase of these cases. This leaves us with only one possibility that technology worsened an individual's health due to the fact that it made us more lethargic and possibily dependent. This torpor behaviour could also be the reason for increase in obesity and heart failures by 10% in 2006 and respective decrease in mortality rate, where the average life expectancy reduced from 70 years to just 66 years on an average.

Though technology has comforted our lives and provided a lot of opportunities to work around, it has simulataneously created a negative impact on the rest of the society, which is analogous to a very famous quote " Nothing comes for free in this world. If something good has happened to you, then something bad has happened to someone at that exact moment on the other side of the world". Remember, we are in a circuitous loop, and one day everybody has to pass through this. So today it is technology that improved our lives, but tomorrow it may be the same technology, which might take away our lives.