Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Fisherman incursions generally depend on the price of the fish or a sea animal would would yield them the more profit and less effort. Fishing a shrimp is relatively more difficult than any other fish because according to the paper by Jon Husteon, shrimps have a outer skin which can sense any form of danger around. Fishing rods or nets have been designed in such a way that it could easily hook onto the animals outer skin, but in the case of shrimps, the outer skin would help it detect the danger, thus making it diificult for the fisherman to catch them.

There was a study conducted by University of Melbourne, where they just dropped a hook, 7m from the sea level. There was an apparent shift of movement noticed when the hook reached near the shrimps. Shrimps are very proactive creatures which can easily glide though the waters at a speed of 40miles per hour at the time of danger, so tracking them and catching them again is a tedious task. This makes the fishing of shrimps nearly impossible. But ,the scientists later discovered that a substance named bleak powder, makes them insenstive of the danger, thus making it easier to trap them. This substance is now readily available, but the sources of this substance is just 0.5% of the total resources. Every year almost 10% of this resource is getting depleted, so the trend of fisherman of fish Madagascan shrimps might not reach to an extent where they are declared as the endangered species.

Furthermore, shrimps yield just a profit of $4 per fish, which is very less as compared to the rays or sharks, which are way more easier to catch, thanks to the scientists who have developed an inexpensive equipment for this purpose. So the fisherman would prefer these speices rather than shrimps. The only reason that accounts for the massive incursions is because sharks and other rays serve as a food for shrimps, which is making them more abundant in the sea water. Over the past few years, sharks are more in the demand, which leads to imbalance between the sharks and shrimps. So if fisherman could hunt the shrimps for several years, then it would ensure a proper balance between the various species inside the water.

Thus, even if the incursions by deep-sea fisherman in the habitats of Madagascan shrimps would increase, it would certainly not lead to the stage where they become endangered, rather a proper balance would be the result of fishing shrimps.