Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our world has made great strides in every field because of the development of novel technologies.

The statement that assumes that technology unnecessarily complicates our lives is a gross oversimplification and an injustice to all the technological marvels in the recent centuries which has made the world an infinitely better place to live .

Let us simply consider an example of how technology has immensely impacted us in a usual day of our lives.The cars and other public modes of transport we use to commute to and from work have become so ubiquitous, that we just cannot imagine spending a significant amount of time having to walk to work. Technology has aided hospitals and emergency response teams to rescue people in grave danger in a matter of few seconds, which is paramount when it comes to life and death.

Almost century back, one would have to scour through several books in various libraries to conduct research in any field of study in great detail. Not to mention, the additional care and effort required to maintain those books which would be passed around to so many people and would be at the mercy of the reader. With the advent of the internet, technology has simplified the process of being exposed to an abyss of information at any instant. If anything, technology has strongly contributed to the conservation and spread of knowledge.

There was a time when scientists performed highly complex and involved calculations manually and engineers drew mechanical or electrical drawings by hand. Such calculations and drawings would span several pages with little room to make mistakes. Technology has led to development of several kinds of simulation software aiding scientists and engineers to perform calculations and modeling in a short span of time

As humans, we are an inquisitive species and if there is one thing which sets us apart from all the other animals in this planet, is our creativity and powerful intellectual prowess. It would be a travesty to let our highly developed brains be occupied with mundane tasks which can be readily automated or even eliminated because of technology.