SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument makes numerous questionable assumptions with respect to SuperCorp's decision to move its headquarters to Corporateville.

The very first assumption it makes is that an increase in homeowners directly corresponds to a superior place to live in. However, the surge of homeowners translates to an increase in the population and therefore an increase in the prices of property. This will not bode well, for the employees who will not look forward to having to shell out a larger amount of money for accommodation. Also, even if the prices are comparable to Middlesburg, a larger population will also result in traffic during rush hour, forcing the employees to spend a longer time commuting much to their chagrin. That Corporateville is safer than Middlesburg, is contingent upon several factors not ascertained in this argument. There is however, a very strong correlation between an increase in crime rate in urban areas which inadvertantly have a much higher population.

Furthermore, the arguments lay a strong basis for relocation based on an employee survey. Surveys are never the best way to get a holistic view of a situation as the people's responses are often limited by the options provided in the survey. For example, the survey could have merely asked if the employees prefer living in an urban or extremely rural area, in which case it might have skewed the results towards wanting to live in an urban area. Just because someone wants to live in an urban area does not mean they would be willing to be burdened with the process of relocating. SuperCorp should have ensured that the survey conducted, explicitly stated a clear inclination towards relocating its headquarters.

Finally, it is true that lower taxes would in a way translate to a higher salary, but does that mean living in Corporateville is cheaper? No, it does not. Being an urban area, could mean that the cost of living is much higher and the employees would end up saving lesser amount of money than they would if they lived in Middlesburg.

In order to make an informed decision, SuperCorp must carefully consider all possible scenarios before coming to a strong conclusion