Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technological innovations come into life for varied reasons – out of need and necessity, when the current processes are long and tedious and when there is scope for improvement. The old mailing system through posts has largely been replaced by emails, manual banking has been improved by coalescing it with the internet and many more technological inventions have improved other outdated processes. Advancements in technology serve to simplify and automate day to day lives so that people can focus their time and energy on other important tasks.

Technology has grown leaps and bounds in the past decade and has rooted itself into a wide array of consumers and businesses, bringing along with it, much ease and simplicity in people’s lives. Take for example the invention of the internet through which communication has transformed into mediums such as Emails , Video calling and live streaming to name a few. A recruiter in London can reach out to a wide pool of job-seekers through canned emails, remotely interview candidates from all over the world through video calling services like Skype and also inform a candidate of his performance via a quick email , all in a couple of days. This is a much needed improvement over the laborious ways in the past when interviews needed to be set up personally – a process that took weeks, if not months just to declare to a much enthusiastic candidate that he wasn’t a good fit for the organization.

In the financial and banking domain, technology has enabled people to have quick access to their money via ATM's, send money between countries which are thousands of miles apart and purchase stocks and assets- all in the click of a button. Technology has indeed transformed the financial industry for the better and simplified the work and lives of the people involved in it. Comparing the current financial processes which are deeply amalgamated with technology, to those around 10 years ago where a person could only withdraw money personally from a bank and had to wait days for his cheque to get cleared after depositing, it is clear that the former has been a much welcomed change in people’s lives.

When speaking about technology, one cannot miss out how it has simplified the automotive and several other manufacturing industries. Back when a lot of man power and several days were required to assemble a single car in an assembly line, automated robots now execute the same work in far less time , with much more accuracy and while maintaining a minimum error rate. It is through technology that we can travel in underground bullet trains while avoiding the heavy city traffic and fly across cities and countries in matter of hours through airplanes.

While the obsession with incorporating technology in every aspect of our lives has simplified and made our lives easier, it has led to an over-simplification too. This over-simplification has in a way manifested itself into complications. Take for example automated homes, where lights turn on and off at the click of a button on smartphones. Do we really require that level of simplicity? Are we that lazy that we find it difficult to get out of our couch to simply flick a light switch on/off? It’s hard not to think of the famous Einstein’s quote here– “Everything should be as simple as possible, but not simpler”.

Technology has been deeply rooted into our quotidian lives and we have become accustomed to its use and the simplicity which it brings to us. Even if for a moment we are deprived of the luxuries which are considered basic – such as Internet, Smartphones and laptops, we would find it extremely difficult to do our daily tasks without them. I doubt if anyone would roll over to using the ancient pigeon messengers when our smartphones break down and we need to send a text message urgently. Rather, we would simply buy a new smartphone.