Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Discussion on whether technology has made our lives easier or even more complicated, in my opinion is a very nuanced one. I would argue that there are a number of aspects to this discussion that all need to be considered.

Throughout history technoligical breakthroughs have undoubtedly gone on to make lives easier for the common people. Take the example of the invention of the silicon chip which many would consider to be the single most important invention of the digital age. The silicon chip took us to the moon. Before the invention on the silicon chip computers used to be the size of whole rooms. They required a whole staff of people to maintain and operate. They were accesible only to universities and the military. The silicon chip brought the computer to the domestic household. It created calculators, when there was a time people were employed simply for the job of doing calculations manually.

Technology has brought us closer together and made the world smaller than ever.

Today we can instantly send messages across the world. Until the conception of the email or even the telephone, it could take weeks, or even months for a message to travel such long distances and even longer to receive a reply. Advancements in technology benefit everyone. As technology improves the cost of doing things decreases. For example, with the passage of time, innovations in manufacturing have continuously driven down prices of cars making them available to almost everyone. The same can be said for computers and all manufactured consumer products for that matter.

There are aspects in which technology has also somewhat made life more complicate d for the modern individual. In todays age of where any and information is available in the palm of hands, at the push of a button it has become increasingly difficult to navigate this ocean of information. Creating and propagating news has become easier and identifying it much more difficult. Social media to a large extent has traded physical human interaction for the instant gratification of likes and comments. Given these aspects are also there, I would however, never go so far as to state that technology has not made our lives easier. It will continue to do so in the future and in some ways make it more complicated as well. The line I would say is a a very thin one.