SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The argument presented is rife with assumptions that make it difficult to state if the decision to move SuperCorp headquarters to Corporateville is a wise one let alone the best.

Firstly, the argument assumes that since there has been a surge in the number of homeowners in Corprateville, therefore it is a superior place to live than Middlesborough. The argument fails to examine any other cause for the increase in homeownership. For exmaple houses might be cheaper in Corporateville than Middlesburg and not necessarily better, or it just may be that more people are moving to Middlesborough because of more job opportunities. A deeper analysis of the reasons for the increase in homeownership is most certainly required.

Secondly, the argument relies on an employee survey that has reached the conclusion that its employees would prefer to live in area that is not urban. We however, are not sure whether the sample that has taken the survey is reperesentative of the whole population of SuperCorp employees. From the argument we only know that Middlesburg is predomininantly urban and nothing about Corporateville has been mentioned regarding its urban or non-urban status. We do not even know that if not urban, what kind of an area the workers of SuperCorp would like to live in. For all intents and purposes the area can turn out to be contrary to the workers expectations.

Thirdly and lastly, the argument assumes that since the taxes in Corporateville are lower than Middlesburg, therefore it is also a safer place to work. The argument provides no evidence as to why it considers a place that has lower taxes to be a safer working environment, although granted that it may be cheaper.

All of these logical inconsistencies make it difficult for the company to make a strong case in support of moving the company headquarters to Corporateville.