Those who see their ideas through regardless of doubts or criticism others may express are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy

Presenting an idea to the masses is bound to have varried reactions--from undying support to down right rejections and everything in between. Encouragement and doubts have equal effects, but it is more difficult to see an idea through when there are discouraging reactions. However, those who persevere, regardless of doubt and criticism others may express, are the ones who have a better chance at leaving a lasting legacy.

Looking back at the recent history, Abraham Lincoln comes to mind. His initial idea to abolish slavery no doubt caused an uproar among the slave owners. Had the former president gave up due to resistance, the United States would be drastically different right now.

A legacy can signify a positive or negative impact an idea has on society. For instance, Adolf Hitler, whose notoriety was solidfied when he fought against human rights advocates around the world. He saw his genocidal idea through and the outcome was nothing short of a legacy--a devasting one, of course.

There are times when a idea is simply implausible. An ambitious aviator could dream about soaring through the sky without any mechanical assistance. He could unyieldingly see his idea through until his death bed, but it is likely that nothing would come out of it because it is physically impossible--at least for our current reality. Perseverence is a necessity for success; however, it does not necessarily guarantee success. An ambitious person might leave a memorable impression on many people for his or her attempts, but a legacy would require success to be called a legacy.