Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Any one who has ever had or witnessed a debate on topics suchs as wheter the earth is round or flat, whether vaccine causes autism, or the validity of xenophobia, they would likely conlude that those debates rarely end with a concession from either side. Discussing controversial topics with those contrasting views can be tiresome and frustrating. However, those discussions are useful in other ways even if few people change their minds when questioned about their core beliefs.

The main purpose of a discussion is edification. It should be a learning experience from all party involved rather than proselytizing. Even if one cannot convince a mother to vaccinate her newborn, one would gain insights as to why some people are against innoculation. Failure to convert someone does not equate futility.

The conclusion of a discussion does not mean someone stops thinking about it. The effect of words exchange continues consciously and/or subconciously long after someone leaves the room in a huff. The term "core belief" indicates that it would be difficult and time consuming to change that belief. Therefore, starting one dicussion on a controversial topics is similar to knocking down the first smallest domino tile and waiting to see its effect down the line.

What if the the discussion about vaccination you have today with Mia is the final domino piece that knocks down her conviction about the correlation between vaccination and autism? It would most likely save Mia's children from preventable diseases. Mia would then contribute to changing other people's minds and start her own domino effects. A discussion might not yeild obvious results in the moment, but when it does, it the consequences that follow can be tremendous.

It is tempting to avoid a discussion with someone whose beliefs are already entrenched. Such discussions can be infurriating and exhausting. Nevertheless, they are anything but useless. Communication is never useless because in the end, everyone learns something from it.