Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and s

History was never my favorite subject because I found it irrelevant to my current reality. After all, I have no personal connections to the World Wars, Native American History, Civil Right movement, or the influenza pandamic. It seemed that the past has rarely any practical benefit. Thankfully, my views have changed and I have learned to see that the past is not only useful, but essentialy to those in current positions of leadership.

One of the most important qualities required for a leader is the ability to connect with his or her consitituents. Without that connection, cohesion would be difficult to maintain. When a presidential candidate speaks to a group of Native Americans, it would behoove him or her to understand the past conflicts to avoid offending her or her audience. Understanding the past helps establish new relationships and strengthen current ones because to have an understanding is a sign of respect.

Another desireable trait of a good leader is incisiveness and the ability to make wise decisions. A good leader needs not only know what to do but also what not to do; the latter could easily be gathered from history. When influenza swept through the world not too long ago, some states in the US allowed large gatherings such as parades to happen in the midst of a pandamic. The result was the deaths of additional thousands of Americans. By learning from the mistakes some have made during the influenza pandamic, leaders were able to react more efficiently during the 2020 COVID-19 pandamic, saving countles of lives. The past does not necessarily tells leaders what do, but rather, what mistakes to avoid.

Understanding how a problem came into existence could help solve the current one. Global warning has long been a concern for earth and in order to save the planet, it is crucial to understand the contributing causes. By understanding that historically, carbon emission from vehicles had and has a negative impact on the environment, leadership can steer society towards cleaner engergy. Knowing how a problem was formed could lead to a solution.

It is true to that since no event can ever be completely replicated and the world is everchanging and evolving, a lot of time history seems like nothing more than a nice story. Nevertheless, even stories have morals and lessons to take away. Understanding the past help those in current positions of leadership connect with people, avoid repeating past mistakes, solve current problems, or at the least, learn valueable lessons which would eventually be of use.