Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When one pursues a passion or tries to change the world, a multitude of risks arise. Many individuals start to doubt themselves as prospects become uncertain and may give up before seeing their ideas to fruition, but those that push themselves through hesitation and the naysay of others are the ones that make a lasting impact on our society in the long run.

For example, social change movements are often spearheaded by the ideas of an individual; an underdog that a majority doubt. Martin Luther King Jr. is the epitome of this idea. Although a great majority of Americans were against him and believed that African Americans did not deserve to be equals, he pushed through the doubts of the masses and held fast to his ideas. He held speeches, went to prison, was more than ridiculed by the public, but continued speaking his mind despite the great risks. Even when other groups promoted the eye-for-an-eye mindset, King argued for peace, knowing full well the philosophy would put his followers and himself in a position to not fight back. King, through his drive, determination, and passion, was able to change America in the long run. His name will forever be remembered in the history books.

Individuals that stop at nothing to see their ideas through are not only successful in social justice however. Many technological companies that have modernized the world we know today were started by stubborn, passionate individuals. Steve Jobs, the now multi-millionaire owner of Apple, quit his job to pursue the advancement of technology. Though nothing like the iPhone had ever been invented before and there was no guarantee of his success, Jobs took the jump through all the doubts and started his own company. Now he has pioneered incredible technology that we now see everyday. Computers, smartphones, touchscreens, advanced camera lenses and chips, we all have today because of Jobs' determination to push through. He has undoubtably affected the lives of many people.

Though this stubborn drive is good to have, some argue that rejecting criticism will only lead to failure. It's not that these individuals don't accept criticism, it's that they choose who to listen to wisely and only take advice to forward their own goals, for if we listen to everyone in the world, there will always be contradicting opinions on how we should proceed. No one knows the future though, so it is best to stick to your goals and dreams and listen to yourself, as demonstrated by the many already successful individuals in our history books.