"True beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the common place"

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your essay consider instances in which the statement does not hold true.

Beauty, is the good distinguishing factor about a thing or an individual and would always be picked out by the eye or heart. This art picked by the eye or our heart triggers our thinking, expands the length of our creativity and also pacifies or sooths our heart. Exceptionality is the output of beauty and so it can be said true beauty is exceptional. Exceptionality can be picked in places we least expect mostly clothed as the common. Therefore, I assert true beauty is something found in the common place.

Beauty which I see as exceptional is a deviation from the orthodox and for example photographers are keen to taking amazing shots of things in places we term as common but because of our work intense attitude we miss out on this ‘detail’ called beauty. As a result of the society we live in, we get used to following the tune of the band wagon looking for the beauty in things we consider as exceptional. Photographers on the other hand have mastered the art of calmness and thorough observation to pick exceptions in a place termed common. A year ago, in a certain local street in Nigeria while shooting a movie, the concentration was obviously on the people auditioned for the place but just after taking the shots of the scene. Morenike, a lady just selling her bread was on the picture and stood out as exceptional. That was true beauty and it became a topic for some weeks in the public.

Again, the good book of the Bible read by Christians gave a story about a Man who was on a long journey. During the course of the journey he was beaten by robbers and lost his procession to them, in his time of need for help, people I would term ‘exceptional’ who looked maybe well dressed and were in a position to help all looked past him but he was helped later on by a commoner (the good Samaritan). At that time of travail, I suppose nothing else mattered to the traveler but a search a helper who would be a exception from the supposed exceptional. To the good heart of his New friend (the Samaritan) he would forever remember has true beauty. This type of beauty can only be found in the heart and it is usually exhibited mostly by commoners who have lived their lives mostly in the common place, they have little or nothing and so have no fear of losing possessions but are ready to render help to someone they see in dire need. On the other hand, the high class (exceptional) people have so much and fear losing much, this ultimately reduces their chances of helping and therefore they cannot exhibit the beauty of the heart.

Sometimes, in rare circumstances true beauty is found in the exceptional and this is mostly seen in large cities where there are series of sky scrappers or by artist who only display their work in serene, high class environment for customers to see.

True beauty in itself is an exceptional thing but mostly has its solace in the common place. If you look back and probe deep about where you have experienced true beauty, you would come to a realize that it is clothed in the common. True beauty can only be found in the common place.