Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author, supports respect for pairs, is more important than sound moral judgment. Maintaining respect for pairs is very important in leadership but it is not as effective, as sound moral judgment for succes in leadership. I say this considering two reasons, which i would list below.

The leader, requires to be able to commuinicate is ideas effectively to his peers. In a case where the leader lacks sound moral judgement, he won't be taken seriously. The people would not trust to follow him, because he lacks in moral standing. For example, it is difficult for a leader that steals public funds to communicate the need for financial integrity to his peers. Well, the leader might have been able to maintain respect for his peers, but would he get the same respect in return? Certainly, No. A leader cannot communicate relevant ideas easily, if he lacks respect from his peers. He would be taken for granted, as he does not command sound moral jugdmnet.

Goals. A leader, that lacks in moral standing cannot achieve the set goals of the organisation he leads. I said, earlier, a leader that cannot communicate ideas cannot be respected. In turn, this would make achievement of goals difficult. For example, a political leader that has lofty economic goals for the country, would struggle to achieve it. This is because, he might be lacking in financial integrity and this would ste a bad example for his peers to follow, Therefore, the economy of the country would be in danger.

Sometimes, maintaining respect for peers trascends to succes in leadership. And this happens, when leading people who are older than the leader. This example, can be found in Africa, where age respect is very relevant to maintain a good relationship with elders.

In conclusion, respect is an important factor in leadership. Whether it is given or earned, but earning respect through sound moral jugdment is more important for an effective leader.