The true test of greatness of art work is the ability to understood by the masses.

Art is a skillful work which can only be expressed by unique people. This work has its own features that are accurately visible for the creator eyes. It cannot be judged by the normal people who lacks inherent skills to analyze the art work. So, I strongly disagree with the given claim that true test of greatness lies in the most people understanding. Art is very different work compared with the perfunctory work of people who does stereotypical work. There is no chance for them to understand the art clearly to appreciate the art done.

Admittedly, Art is a precious piece of knowledge that is acquired only by few people. Not everyone can shine in the field of arts. Likewise, not all can understand the meaning of art to find it greatness and enjoy it. For example, A sculpture designed by a sculptor can able to find the minute flaws in it. And even the great goodness can be viewed entirely by him. A visitor just came to have a look on that sculpture have no intellectual thought to describe the sculpture's features. Rather, he would sight see the statue for some time for its wonderful making but not able to understand its features completely.Therefore, I would say that it is difficult for an unknown person to acknowledge an art work for its greatness.

In addition, I would prefer to keep an another state of example to make my point more clearer. Consider the seven wonders of the world which includes The Taj Mahal of India. There are people from many India who are not interested to visit The Taj Mahal in their country but willing to visit the Paris for Eiffel tower.Hence, the people of masses differ but experts can judge correctly.

Furthermore, it is not necessary for every one to recognize the art work as soon as they see it. There are many people who shows less interest in the art. By stating this point, i would clarify that it is not needed to be understood by a huge mass to evaluate the greatness of a art piece. Since, these masses may contain both contradictory minds of people such as critics and appreciates. However, There may be another set of group interested in art and these people are not creators of art but has ability to observe and judge the art work. These type of people has a greater sign of taste in art and can find the true essence of the art work. Even though these group of people belong to the same masses it is not required to test the greatness of art by taking all the entire mass into account.

In sum, I feel that the given claim is not valid to support positively. Moreover, the experts of art and the people with real skill to scrutiny the art work is more than enough to decide the greatness of art work. To make my view more stronger, I mentioned the different types of people contained in the mass. It is very unfair to take the views of different groups of people to test the greatness of art work.