The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder, some may find a complex mathematical theorem to be beautiful while some may find a poem beautiful. What people find beautiful or artistic depends mainly on their perception, experiences, exposures and liking. In order to understand what is meant by great art we need to clarify what is art. Art cannot be confined to a definition, some might construe music to be arts others might refer to poetry as art. But one thing is common about art among these examples art refers to the ability to express oneself, and the true test of the greatness of art lies not in the understanding of the art by the masses, but its contribution to the artistic world, how it shaped the thinking of artists or the perception of art itself.

To elaborate on this, lets consider the example of Arrows impossibility theorem, one of the primary theorems of social choice, which depicted the conditions under which it is impossible to reach a concensus. It is widely celebrated as a piece of art for its simplistic idea and a beautiful proof, by social choice theorist. However, if presented to the masses, they would fail to recognise the beauty of the said work. In other words, masses may not always have the relevant knowledge or understanding of a field, in order to assess whether the work is great or not. In order to assess the greatness of the piece of art one needs to understand its significance, which neccesitates prior knowledge. So judging every piece of art on the basis of the masses would be injustice to art itself.

Even for fields such as music, painting, which common people have exposure to its not necessarily the understandinng of a piece of art that makes it great it could be the mystery behind the said piece of art to. For example the famous painting of Monalisa, is shrouded in mystery, thus making it interesting and hence exalting it to a status of greatness.

While some people might argue that every great piece of art should be understood by the masses, such a statement restricts the very scope of art to something which the masses find interesting enough to have an opinion about. Masses may also find things they dont understand artistic based on its aesthetic appeal. Such a definition would primarily restrict the scope of art.

There are many things we dont understand, the biggest example being life.Just because we dont understand something doesnt mean we cant appreciate the beauty of it. Peoples appreciation for art does not necessarily depend on their understanding of it, and art should not be confined to what is understood by the masses. The greatness of art should be left to the test of time, if a piece of art is remembering way beyond its time, it can be construed as a great work of art.