The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Art is a reflection of an artist's imagination or perception of things around him or her. Art is sometimes a reflection of reality tinged with the artist's creativity or sometimes an abstract depiction of some abstruse emotion or understanding. There are a number of factors like theme, subject of inspiration, artistic depiction of the muse, use of colours and their shades, artistic skill, hidden meanings and universal acknowledgement that contributes to the greatness of a work of art. A great art may or may not be understood by the masses. Thus, I beg to diagree with the claim that the true test of greatness of any work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Many of the famous arts by Leonardo Da Vinci, Michelangelo, Picasso are both understood and acclaimed for the beauty portrayed on canvas. Da Vinci's famous painting Monalisa is famous for its depiction of the facial emotion. The statue of Liberty is a famous work of art not merely for the artistic excellence but for the theme of freedom and liberation it portrayed. Mount Rushmore National is a symbol of extreme artistic excellence.These are great works of art that are understood by the masses and appreciated.

However, there are many other great works of art that are esoteric to the understanding of common man. Abstract art is one such genre that need not require to be understood by the masses. Connoisseurs and experts of arts are often more interested in these forms of art for they can find some hidden meaning that the general public cannot decipher. Works by artists such as MF Hussain often depicted abstract human emotions that the general public could not easily comprehend but that does not preclude the art from being considered as great. Infact, it makes it all the more precious for the ability portrayed by MF Hussain to transcend beyond the level of human intellect.

Often, there can be multiple interpretations of a particular work of art; this calls for considering different angles and perspectives in evaluating the work of art and thus,we cannot say that such work of art are great because they are understood by the masses. Understanding any piece of art is often subjective and influenced majorly by the viewer's perspective. A piece of art can be considered great due to the divergent interpretations that it seems to satisfy.

Works of art sometimes bear no resemblance to reality. They focus on transcending beyond the reality and are simply compositions out of sheer creativity, unfettered imagination with a desire to show something new or reflect something in a new way. To the prosaic masses, it is incomprehensible in most cases since not majority of common people possess a great artistic sense or outlook to understand the theme or inspiration behind the work of art. Nevertheless, the still appreciate the workof art is they find it visually appealing.

One need not pore into the details and nuances of any artistic work and comprehend it in order to classify it as great. Great work is a concoction of various factors which are often divergent in nature.Thus, I disagree with the claim that the true test of greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.The mass might not undertand in depth the masterpiece but still appreciate.Connoisseur's opinion to some extent matter but often there is no fixed consensus as to what makes great art.