A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

The most burgeoning university in the 21st century is the one offering eclectic courses for its students to pursue. This seems to a very important aspect for the diversity of fields that are made available for the students. Though this availability does not seem to have any flaws, there are few which need to be considered. The coming paragraphs explain how the broad spectrum of courses available which certainly prove to be beneficial may also have certain limitations that need to be addressed.

Availability of broad spectrum of courses definitely help the students to explore plethora of fields. This provides them with a benefit of clearly coming up with a decision of what interests them the most and are not untrammelled by the limited options provided by the university. With lack of available options, a student might be deprived of the idea of all the possible alternatives that he/she might consider.

It is of vivid importance that a student pursuing liberal art courses must have a brief knowledge of all the affiliated or similar types of courses. This is of primary importance because the course offered by the university is not the ultimate learning associated with it and the basics of similar types of courses may be required for further advancements in the particular field. Hence, the broad spectrum of courses made available will help the student gain a descriptive or brief knowledge on all the similar fields which are a prerequisite for any further specialization.

Even if true learning must encompass all possible diverse fields, it is cardinal to have a specialized study on a particular discipline. Though the brief study of all the similar fields are necessary, they are an inchoate knowledge of the various fields and to pine for a specialization, one must also have a narrow, focused study of a particular discipline. As popularly said, 'Jack of all trades but master of none' seems to be appropriate here. One must utilize the various options available to decide their particular interest, however, must pursue the specialization only of a single discipline and hence can be termed as a true learning.

Hence, the surfeit options of liberal courses prove to be an important aspect in deciding the specialization, however, true university education should ensure specialized study of at least one of its courses for true education on a particular subject.