"A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor."

Every country, though different in various aspects have one thing in common which is their system of providing justice. All the countries have their rules and norms for the various crimes happening in society. One such type of punishment is mentioned in the issue which includes depriving the individual of any civil rights or the right to benefit if he/she commits a crime intentionally. Though I agree with this point, there can be better ways to come up with a solution. The coming paragraphs suggest how changes can be brought into this measure for achieving a better judicious society.

It is of at most importance to punish an individual who commits any malfeasance intentionally. Although one can be a little venial if an unintentional mistake was made, severe punishment for violating the social contract intentionally is cardinal. This establishes a just society and if stringent measures of punishment are not followed, there will be a tremendous rise in the unruly behavior of the citizens and it will be no time that the crime rates reach an apotheosis.

As punishment for a crime is necessary, it is of equal importance to ensure that the person must realize his wrong-doing. He must realize his mistake and must ensure he doesn't repeat them again. Else, punishment alone will make them vindictive and will be a frivolous and futile effort to correct the person. Hence, proper rehabilitation methods must be present along with the punishment which must ensure that the individual will henceforth not create any hindrance to the society and will not violate the social contracts.

However, deprivation of civil rights or benefitting from his labor might not only affect the individual himself but rather all the other dependencies associated with him. For example, if a builder commits any treason, depriving him of the benefit of his organization will not only affect him rather might affect his entire family who is dependent on the individual. This might be an unjust practice and can punish the individuals who aren't at fault. Also, civic rights are very necessary for an individual to justify himself and depriving them of their rights will be a partial justice system that is being implemented.

Hence, proper scope of correction along with punishment must be provided to the individual to the extent of certainty that he is innocuous to the society henceforth. However, achieving the same by deprivation of their rights seems to be unjust and all the necessary reasons must be considered before indicting an individual of a crime.