A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

It is true that today's college graduates, are more trained than educated, but is making the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses truly the answer to this problem?

College is a place where students come not just to learn, but also seek for where their passion truly lies. Many lost individuals are looking for places to explore, searching desperately for the one thing they like and are good at. Offering the various courses of liberal arts can help these explorers find what they are looking for. It can help them learn the proper way to live their lives, and widen their scope of thinking. This way the college graduates will be more prepared to make the right choices in their lives.

However, making such courses mandatory can lead to the overburdening the students with a lot of course-load. The real reason, every student enters college is to acquire a specialized degree. He/She has a finite time to do this. If the degree is combined with additional unspecialized courses, he/she might feel that their time is not being utilized in a productive way. This could lead to a drop in the number of students applying for college.

Every university must offer courses in liberal arts, but must not make it mandatory. Liberal arts courses may be made mandatory in primary years of education, but in the later years, time could be used more wisely elsewhere.