Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The uniqueness of the so-called “Paean baskets” poses a question after the discovery of these basket in an ancient village of Lithos. The uniqueness of an object to a place can be determined easily, however, when it comes to objects which are historic and places which are ancient the process gets a little difficult. Of course, one can answer this question by carbon dating, but it is better to follow a series of steps before jumping onto conclusion by performing carbon dating on such objects.

The primal question that one needs to answer is regarding the use of these objects by the Palean people. If the baskets were designed for simply storing things and packing them away in the house, the baskets could not have been sent by the Palean people to Lithosian people across the river. However, since the baskets have also been found in the villages in the vicinity of Palea, there is a possibility that the baskets were exported or used for transporting things which the Palean people exported. In this case, one needs to check the buoyancy of these baskets. If the baskets floated on water, the Palean people could have used them to trade items or communicate with the Lithosian people across the Brim river. In this case, one can arrive at a conclusion that the baskets were from either one of the villages.

Another significant evidence could come from observing the design on these baskets. Is the design inspired from anything present in the Palean culture ? If so, there is a good possibility that these baskets were a discovery of the Palean people. However, mankind has witnessed a lot of stealing of ideas belonging to other people and realizing an improved version of them. The baskets could have been a discovery of the Lithosian people who used it for trading or communicating with the Palean people. The Palean people could have found these baskets useful and therefore found a way to produce them locally using their own techniques and designs.

The question that still remains to be answered is regarding the origin of these baskets. Did the Palean people discover them or did the Lithosian people did ? A check on the raw materials used for the construction of these baskets could provide a substantial evidence to justify their origin. If the raw materials were from either one of these villages, it is highly likely that the baskets originated in that village. Another signifiant proof could be generated by finding the age of the “basket samples” found in these villages. If the basket samples found in the village of Lithos are older than the ones found in Palea, one can conclude that the baskets orginiated in Lithos.

There have been times in the history of man-kind wherein one idea was thought of by two different people living poles apart from eachother. For those of you who are a fan of the great inventor Nikola Tesla are aware that communication using radio waves was an idea first discovered by him. However, Marconi was the one who implemented it and demonstrated it to the entire world. The credit, therefore, goes to the one who is open to the world about his or her ideas and are willing to contribute them for the development of the society as a whole. For all we know, the Lithosian people might have first discovered the baskets, but Paleans were the ones to improve them and trade them with the neighbouring villages to help them benfit from this simple yet remarkable discovery.