To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society is composed of men and their ideas. Cities, as well are composed of the same men. Yes, a general understanding of a society can be obtained by studying its major cities. This concept is not new to us - it's often said how children are good representatives of the values their respective families hold, and the ideals they follow. History has taught us the same thing. We have extrapolated the behavioral patterns of civilizations based on artifacts discovered in some of their cities. Of course, there will be exceptions to rules, but in general, this can be said to hold true.

However, the issue to address is - how does one decide what makes a city a "major" city? Some of the factors that could be considered are population, population density, per capita income, literacy rate. But if we go by these factors, we could get some really wrong results in some cases. For example, India still consists of more than 65-70 percent rural areas, and only at most 30-35 percent urban areas. There are four metropolitan cities in India, which have progressed really well and would easily be the cities that would qualify as major cities of India. However, if we were to judge the Indian society based on an examination of just these four cities, we would reach fallacious results. A majority of the Indian society still follows orthodox ideas, like the practice of dowry, female infanticide, and in general the Indian society is quite a male-dominated one. But this would not be evident from an examination of just the four "major" cities.

So, it's important the pick up a representative sample for a comprehensive understanding of a society. I would disagree with the use of the word "major" in the claim. Instead of picking the major cities of a society, it would be more beneficial for one to pick up all the different kinds of cities that a society consists of. This would give one a better idea of the lower and upper bounds, similarly a better idea of the variations that occur across a society.

Another factor that could be considered is the neighboring cities/areas of the society. Usually, a lot of cultural and even economical elements of a unit are drawn from surrounding areas, but those areas are not strictly/geographically included in that particular unit. A group of neighboring countries often share similar characteristics and values. This is for logical reasons like similarities in environmental conditions. Though, of course, owing to the ease of travel and migration in today's world, we also need to remember that there is a lot of diversity in even small regions.

All in all, yes, though not exhaustively, but we can still get a good idea of how a society functions by examining a representative sample of its cities.