To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The study about the major cities will surely suffice the need to understand the characteristics of a society.

For most of the countries in the world, major cities are the most densely populated locations in the world. This is due to the fact that most of the economy of a country rests on these places.People from all over the country, come in search for a job hoping to find one in the rat race.This makes these major cities diverse, so called “cosmopolitan”.The understanding of the characteristics of a society is more simple , when majority of the cultures are available in a very small area.

Many prestigious institutes of the world are found in the heart of the major cities, like The Indian Institutes of Technology in India. All these cities are found only in major cities of the country like Mumbai, The financial capital of India. These institute have students from a vast pool of culture from the most remote part to the most Hi-Fi parts of the country.

Most of the civilisation in the pasts had major cities in them, where the king and queen resided, these cities were the place where people would come for trade which made foreign trade stronger for some countries and turned out to be catastrophic for others, like India.

Even though the cities boast of a diverse cultures, Not all the characteristics can be found in cities. The major income for a country like India in agriculture, which cannot be seen in the cities. Nevertheless, it is not mandatory that only the study of major cities in important, even smaller towns and villages yield a lot on the characteristics of the society.

Ultimately, the study of major cities will surely yield the important characteristics of the society that we live in.