To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Society's characteristics are based on the orthodox values, culture, history, political views, political stability, and the advancement in technology. Major cities hold all of the above mentioned characteristics. I agrees without any doubt with the statement that in order to learn a society deeply one needs to learn about its major cities. As major cities are essence of a country and its culture.

Talking about education, all the national and international level education systems are embended in the major cities. This shows how a society is involved in education, and how well groomed a society is. Education is the key to success making a statistical data of ratio of educated to non educated shows how much a society is getting advance and also tell that how much it is involved in labor. Another characteristic that follows the above argument is the advancement in technology. How much a country is advance can be determine by its part in technological advancement ;such as, use of electronic systems in everyday life. Like, artificial intelligence assisting in medical, military, and engineering etc. This also helps in getting information regarding a society.

Furthermore, almost all historical places, museums, and monoments are located in the major cities. For example, Mughal eras mosques, British eras buildings ;such as, civil servants residence areas all are located in its major city Lahore. The historical building indicates the history of a society, who were the kings here in early eighteenth century, did British lived in Pakistan just as traders or as a ruler. The answers to all the questions are in the historical places in the cities.

In addition, the major characteristic is: the political stability. One can also educate himself/herself about the political issues, situation, stability, and views of a society by learning about the cities. A very recent example can be, the general elections 2018 in Pakistan, all the views about democracy can be highlighted in city side only. All the posters can be seen in cities only. Almost all the political leaders are from cities and the Prime Minister that is elected is by the young educated people in cities. It is the city that illuminate all characteristics of a society.

Moreover, it is a fact that cities came into being by going through abundant of experiences. Cities are result of hardship of people living there, so how much a society is enthusiastic about growing is illuminated by the advancement of the cities. One might oppose the reasoning by giving the logic that most of the society culture and conventional values are preserved in villages and rural areas rather than in cities. So I am also giving the evidence to support my reasoning; in Pakistan mostly people, for the sake of employment, are migrating to the cities from rural areas. By this point it is proved that cities contain the traditional values that are brought by the migrants.

In conclusion, cities are the reflection of the society thinking, values, beliefs, and characteristics.