To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is indeed very important to understand the characterstics of the society as they will surely help us to develop an outline of the nation. Hence considering this argument I'll not support the given notion of the statement i.e. according to me one must give equal importance to every city be it major or minor or even it's countryside.

In our modern society there is a notion that important characterstics of society are mainly found in it's major cities . However,this is totally an absurd conclusion to make as we clearly see that more than half of the population of the major cities are migrants from the small cities, towns , or even countryside. These people create a diverse society in the so called "major"city . People while migrating carry with them their cultures, traditions. These people are mostly young and often take their parents along with them, hence increasing the importance of the society by imparting their wisdom hence increasing the overall wit of the society.

Also,in order to understand the important qualities of society one must be aware about it's roots i.e. it's small cities/towns countryside as these are the people who will be creating a base for the major cities to develop their culture.For example we must see that the social mannerisms are being developed throughout the world from the rubble only, consider the early human life how they transformed their lives from being socially awkward to highly intelligent beings capable of inventing even most unimaginable technologies like artificial intelligence, nanotechnology,etc.

However, we must not ignore the fact that these people from small towns often create a diverse natured society which indeed is a part of our major cities.Also, major cities are the reflection of the ateqquites being developed in the small areas.

In conclusion , I must say that in order to identify important characterstics of a society one must not ignore the contributions of the small town/ cities or even countryside.