Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Opening an outlet is not an easy dicision to make by any company so it must be made judiciously.The argument above is totally flawed due to it'many vague considerations as discussed below.

Nauure's Way franchise assumption of opening the new store in the city of Plainsville is totally superflawed as it is assuming that it will be very successful because it consideres it's citizens to be leading healthy lives that is claarly not the base in assuming that they will consume the health food and other health related products. Most people are healthy in the town because of healthy eating habits, like fruits, green leafy veggies, proper exercises like jogging, swimming or many kinds of yoga etc. There might be a possibility that the citizens of this town are against notion of the health related products as they may cause various harmful side effects.However, in order to achieve the goal of profitable sales of it's products the franchise must itself conduct the survey regarding the future likelihood of bring successful or not that will rather better option than trusting some random survey.

Further the franchise is ambiguously considering the untrusted statistics of the other merchant about that the sales of the sports clothing and shoes are at all time high.There might be a festive season with stores offering heavy discounts and hence greatly affecting the sales.Assuming this notion is intself very flawed and might not be even true.This also points out that the helath club also has more members than ever but still as stated above there is no clear notion of the surety that these people will use these health related products or not.

Schoolchildern on the other hand are required to participate in the fitness program, however this franchise tirelessly considers them as target customers also that's too ambiguous as these childern's parents might not be in favour of consumption of the health products at such an early stage maybe due to their various side effects.Hence the franchise can never be sure about their outlet will be profitabe or not considering their flawed justification on the opening of an outlet.

In conclusion I want to point out that in order to open any outlet in any town one must be aware about it's customers attitude about the particular products that it has to offer and must not rely on some untrusted survey.