To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement argues that major cities reflect the most important traits of a society, but it fails to clarify what the most important characteristics are. It is dependent on people's subjective judgment to define the most important part of a society. In my case, I disagree with the statement because of the varieties of the important characteristics -- major cities can be places to study certain but not comprehensive characteristics of a society.

Major cities can be mirrors of economic change and societal development. The globalization reconstructs the world nowadays. Large cities are the places where changes take place faster and more tremendously. Beijing, the capital of China, has witnessed the huge social change during the last 20 years. The modernization and urbanization make Beijing look like other international large cities worldwide. It has tall skyscrapers, large shopping malls, crowded subways, and people with different backgrounds struggling to survive and making their life better. Beijing is the so-called "political, economic, and cultural " center by the Communist Party in China. As a name card of China, Beijing provides you with rich information of modern China and its prosperity.

On the other hand, the urbanization makes the cities depart from the tradition. Even in the famous Forbidden Palace in Beijing, a representative of Chinese imperial reign, you will find a Starbuck located in the center part of it, reflecting the influence of globalization. The rural areas, however, preserve the old tradition better because of the relatively slow development. Let's take the funeral tradition for example. When people pass away in cities, their family usually goes to a funeral home to deal with the following logistics. However, when I first attended a funeral in a remote, small village where my grandparents live, I began to understand how funerals can perform a different function. The funeral ritual took a week and followed a strict traditional time schedule. The family invited a theatre group to perform all day long to maintain the atmosphere. People came from everywhere to visit and they stayed to help and talk -- they talked about everything, from family issues to politics. In the traditional way, funerals are not only about memorial of the death; they are also about living people coming together to maintain a good relationship. Thus, if you are interested in the old tradition, a small village may be a better choice to study.

In most cases, a society is heterogeneous —different areas represent different local cultures under the complex interactions of many factors. It is hard to conclude that only major cities represent all those important traits of a society, and studying the major cities is the only approach. A more reasonable way to study a society is to be aware of the heterogeneity of it and then study different traits with different approaches.