Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement justifies the utility of scandals because it focuses on our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. I partly agree with the statement because I think it depends on types of scandals.

Scandals create possibilities for public participation. In the spread of scandals, everyone can be an informant. They may be first informed of a scandal via other friends or from social media, but then they become the source to spread the scandal. Scandals can easily become a common topic because people can express their attitudes toward them. Scandals involve people in a way that few speakers or reformers can succeed.

Based on the influence of scandals, they can be a double-edged sword. They can promote social change as well as destroy a person's life. For example, a scandal about Harvey’s sexual harassment of actresses has led to a worldwide "me-too" movement. As one of the most successful film producer in Hollywood, Harvey's power was hard to be challenged, but his scandal caught people's attention and aroused their anger. At the end, encouraged by people's support, more and more victims came to the front stage to speak, which catalyzed an influential social movement.

On the other hand, if a scandal is not reliable and full of lies, it may cause incredible damage to the people involved. Sometimes scandals are made deliberately to attack others; it is easy to arouse the public's emotions through a compelling story. I have heard that people, suffering from internet violence caused by scandals, left the entertainment industry forever and became depressed. There is also a fan, obsessive in her love toward a famous singer, did harm to one of her colleagues when the colleague was discussing the scandal of the singer and said something about him.

Overall, I agree that scandals can focus our attention in ways that a speaker or reformer ever could. This attribute, however, can either lead to a positive solution to a social problem or cause incredible damage to targeted people.