Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement argues that governments should support major cities financially for their role in generating and preserving cultural traditions. The statement can be challenged both from its reason and its claim.

Under the influence of globalization, major cities become more homogenous and gradually lose the authenticity of cultural tradition. China has witnessed a fast development since the 1980s, especially in large cities. Nowadays, cities such as Beijing, Shanghai, and Guangzhou share the common traits as a result of modernization -- high skyscrapers, big shopping malls, and busy central business districts. Even the famous historical sites in large cities -- the symbols of cultural traditions -- somehow become the tools of commercialization: expensive tickets make the cultural tradition as one-off consumption, and souvenir economy thrives on making money from tourists. People can hardly learn anything because they need to rush to see as many historical sites as they can to make tickets worthwhile.

On the other side, small cities and rural areas may preserve the cultural tradition better comparing to large cities. For example, it is common for urban people to go to funeral home to hold a ceremony to memorize the passed away. However, only in rural areas can you see the old tradition of Chinese funeral: within seven days after the death, people from everywhere gather together to hold rituals -- performing Chinese opera, crying for the dead, and holding parades to memorize the dead. Because of the relatively slow modernization, people in the rural areas are more likely to live in a traditional way that cultural values and cultural rituals persist. Thus, the reason that large cities primarily generate and preserve a nation's cultural tradition may not hold solid.

Besides, the claim that governments must ensure the financial support of large cities may be speculated in several aspects. While major cities have large populations and contribute heavily to the national economic growth, it is not reasonable to argue that the government should prioritize the need of major cities. As the amount of financial support is limited, the guaranteed satisfaction of the needs of large cities may sacrifice the needs of underdeveloped areas, which leads to a further increase in developmental gaps. It is the government's responsibility to create an equal and stable society rather than create the imbalance. Another reason to oppose the claim is that major cities provide more job opportunities that may, in turn, boost their development as a result of large-scale development. Comparing to large cities who are more likely to self-sustain, the rural areas or small cities are in more urgent need of governments' financial support. For example, the money for large cities to build a new governmental building may help a bunch of villages to improve their school facilities, recruit more qualified teachers, and support more students from low-income families to go school. Thus, it is important to develop a more comprehensive criterion for financial support to adapt to the complexity of societal development rather than to simplify the circumstances to ensure the development of large cities.

In sum, I strongly disagree with the proposed reason and claim because it oversimplifies the developmental issues that a nation faces. While large cities do play an important role in a nation's development, it is hard to justify that they primarily contribute to the generation and preservation of cultural traditions.