To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is partly true that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one should study it's major cities, but perhaps not for the complete understanding of the society. There is a good old saying, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do". However, does this saying stand true in 21st century as well? Can we expect to get a complete understanding of the Roman society just by investigating the city of Rome. No, right? On the other hand, if we also expand our research to smaller cities and untouched rural areas, the study of the society will be a fruitful one.

In ancient times, the study of major cities would have been a success. The major cities were the center for political, cultural and economical advancements. However, because of globalization, we will see almost every major cities are the same. Lets take New Delhi, capital of India as an example, if we study only New Delhi's population, culture and politics, will be able to get a good understanding of Indian society? Partly yes, but not a complete understanding of the same. New Delhi comprises of people from every part of the world and mostly it comprises of only maybe 0.1 percent of total Indian population. And India being so diverse, the study of major cities like New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai probably won't give correct perception of the society comprising of 1.2 billion population as of 2016.

Again let us take an example of Mohenjodaro and Harappa civilization. The remains of the town led to the study of Indus Valley civilization that had existed in 26th Century BCE. The people of those times were only restricted to those cities due to lack of transport and communication as we have today. They were probably brought up in the same cities and they had to follow the societal and religious norms. Thus, the study of major cities in the past would have given exact indication of the societies which existed in those times. But, in present times if we consider studying a major city to understand the current society, the study won't be appropriate.

The World War had major role to play in shaping the society in the past. Because of WWI and WWII, we would have seen major influx of population from one part of the country to another. For example, if we want to study the Jewish culture Turkey, itself won't be appropriate. There are roughly 6 million Jews in the world and Turkey only comprises 17000- 26000 of the population. So, we can very well conclude that the study of major cities in the recent time is not a good idea for understanding the society in depth.

As we can see from the points stated above, we can summarize that the study of major cities would have definitely resulted in correct understanding of the society and culture and its people. But in present times, just considering the major cities will be result in erroneous research. We need to take study broader population, to get a correct outlook of the current society and it's culture.