Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement claims that scandals are beneficial to the society, more of an eye opener as they tend to draw common man's attention in a way that no other means seem to do so. Scandals are a way of the present to aware people of the problems and how to deal with it in the near future. Thus, scandals seem to have some benefits to the society. However, scandals which are not related to the society, i.e. scandals involving celebrities and their personal lives might not do good to the major masses as it draws unnecessary attention which ultimately results in nothing.

When a scandal occurs, it is known to anyone and everyone. The underlying dirty deeds of big politicians and billionaires are revealed to the plebeians. For example, the recent bribery scandal in Latin American had enraged the Brazilians and pushed president Dilma Rouseff to the verge of impeachment. A massive scandal at the state oil company Petrobras has badly damaged President Dilma Rousseff and her Workers’ Party, which has been in power 13 years. She had to go through suspension and stood trail. One scandal, and the particular political party or the person is scarred for life.

A scandal is resulted from bunch of many years' problems. A single person is not responsible for a scandal. Although, one particular person will be under the limelight for the same, thanks to our social media. But, we need to understand why these scandals are happening in the first place instead of just talking about it amidst ourselves. Once a scandal is known to us, we need to understand the root cause of it, and collectively work towards the problem so that it never gets repeated in the near future. After all, what is the point behind it, just to seek our, the common man's attention which a mere speaker or an article cannot do.

We can now understand that scandals are useful since they help in focusing our attention more towards the problem and it's solution. However, to work towards those scandal, is also one's responsibility. As it involves a large number of people, a solution cannot be found out unless majority of people are willing to find a solution and comply by the rules. A leader cannot resolve the problem and find permanent solution. Conclusively it can be said that scandals definitely focuses our attention towards the problems but a solution to the problem is found only when attitude of the people is concerned and work towards the problem.