As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has been helping the mankind since the Stone age, when early man tried to improvise tools from locally available materials such as stones, wood and iron and the ability of generating fire came into picture. Stone age spanned from 3.4 million years ago till 6000 B.C., the origin of the simplest form of technology. Since then it has been making our lives easier till now. Although, the truth which cannot be avoided that the dependence on technology is increasing day by day, yet we cannot conclude that technology has an adversary effect on human thinking abilities.

The statement is too strong to put the word "detrimental". Technology has reduced the amount of time and energy people used to spend on daily errands. For example, before the invent of telephone, humans used to write mails to communicate to far off kin or their kids studying in a boarding school which used to take ages for the message to reach. After the invention of telephone it is so easy and fast , just dial few numbers and we can talk to our loved ones all because of technology. Technology has hugely impacted human mankind's lives in so many ways that we cannot just put light on what harm technology is doing to us.

Technology has an immense role to play in the field of medicine. It has increased human average life expectancy. With advancement of surgeries , treatments and medicines the life expectancy is still increasing. A recent study shows the average life span for 2004 of a US citizen is 77.4 years old whereas in 1900 it was 48.2 for a male and 51.3 for a female. Another medical advancement which wouldn't have been possible without technology is "cloning". Therapeutic cloning which aims to create embryonic stem cells that could be used to cure diseases or grow replacement organs. This new technology could be used in many areas like burnt victims or cancer patients for the regrowth of cell.

The human mind is responsible for the invent of technology. The thought process which are leading to so many marvelous ideas i.e. new age technology merely cannot deteriorate our ability to think. Rather technology will create new scope to apply our thinking abilities and make our future easier and better. However we should keep in mind that it is important to keep in check the use of technology. For example, we should still manually do the simple calculations such as grocery shopping or the simple estimates which can keep our brains active and not make us forget the high school math.

So, to conclude the write up we can see how technology has helped mankind and still shaping our lives. Together if, we the people can work together with technology and make good use of it , the world surely will be a better place to live in. And as far as the deterioration of human thinking ability goes, we should not enslave ourselves to technology and keep a free flow of thought process which should result in betterment of individual as well as the society.