To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether to study the major cities for a better understanding of the characteristics of society. Indisputably, one must know something about the surroundings of the area where society leaves. Nevertheless, it’s not necessary to know the cities because society may have different origins. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that studying the major cities of society, and would argue that to understand the important characteristics of a society, one may not study its major cities.

First of all, in past days major cities of the countries have their origins. I would like to point out that in this modern world the major cities are a mixture of all cultures, traditions, and styles. To illustrate, let us look at the example of great city Dubai. It belongs to Arabs of Saudi Arabia with their customs and traditions but, now its center of entrainment for all kinds of lavish people. In this circumstance, this major city has many different traditions and cultures. Consequently, it doesn’t reflect its characteristics.

Furthermore, when we consider France the fashion world, Paris is the main city of attraction and people of different societies come and establish themselves. Specifically, people from the fashion world like designers, models have come from different parts of the world have roots of different societies even they are settled in Paris. Both in France and Saudi Arabia, the major cities have common sense that they are modernized with different races of people living there. But, the villages and towns of these countries will have the true essence and value of tradition and origins of their ancestors. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that a major city is not so useful to study society in this modern era.

Admittedly, the study of major cities is important to know the origins. This is true only in olden days as for now everything has been changed, all of the major cities in the world look alike and have the same culture. Also, as the world is globalized everything is common so it is the easiest to communicate with others. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to claim that the study of major cities is likely to be used for understanding it.

In conclusion, although analyzing the major cities we cannot completely know about society. As long as some considerations are taken, or some areas are involved, we can evaluate the features of a society