To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The topic raises the issue of whether studies of major cities is vital to understand the important characteristics of a society. Indisputantly, the cities doesn’t account for all the people of the particular society that the study is trying to get insights of. Further, the major cities around the world are the vast mix of people from different places, which may not depict the true picture, the research is trying to ascertain. Nevertheless, the most of the cities are one of the oldest habitats and civilization of the particular societies. For example, New York is one of the oldest habitation of immigrants from the Europe. Also, cities are so diverse that you could find multiple characteristics to define a society. Thus, I disagree with the opinion that studying cities are trivial to understanding the most important characteristics of the society. I strongly believe on cities being a major area to study about the characteristics of the society.

First of all, it can be observed that all the major cities from ancient Greek society, Athens, to modern mix society of New York, have different characteristics. Athens has so much history to tell you the story about the Greek society. Furthermore, if anyone wants to know about the characteristics of Newari people, a major society in Nepal, one should study Kathmandu Valley, a capital of Nepal even though the people of the same culture are scattered around the nation. The valley is rich with ancient history of Newari people and through some research one can easily find out the characteristics of the Newari Society.

Furthermore, cities are always the first place of the society’s habitation, which latter grows to became a city. Yes, I think one can also get important characteristics of the society by studying rural areas. However, the cities provide unmatched sources to ascertain the characteristics of the particular society than the rural places. The cities have far more numbers of monuments, temples, cathedrals, mosques that are connected to the society than the villages. The greatness of resources also plays important role in identifying important characteristics of the society.

Admittedly, rural places also do contribute to the making of the society. So, we can say they do possess important characteristics of the society too. However, in my opinion cities encompass most of the characteristics that villages do, because people migrant from villages to cities and they tend to carry the societal norms and beliefs with them and instill in the cities they live.

In conclusion, cities provide vast resources for accessing the major characteristics of the society than the villages as they are the culmination of the large number of people. Whereas villages don’t provide sufficient resources for the proper study of the society. However, to understand all the major characteristics of the society, studies of cities are not only enough. One should properly study both the cities and the rural villages of the particular society.