Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

In the argument presented, the author claims that the new franchise to open soon in the town of Plainsville will be a successful one. In support of the argument, the author has provided the reasons for her assertion. The reasons are the proposed area being the area where residents lead healthy lives and the company usually thrives in those areas. Further, she states that Plainsville is seeing sales growth in other health related areas like running shoes and exercising cloths and the health clubs. Finally, the author notes that Plainsville schoolchildren being potential customers for the company “Nature’s Way” as the school children requires to participate in fitness activities. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several aspects.

Firstly, the author doesn’t provide sufficient evidence to back the claim that the company thrives on the given environment i.e. areas with residents with healthy lifestyle. It could be that some of the Nature’s way store are leading in profits in high health conscious areas whereas in general, they are doing average business. So, we cannot be sure that Plainsville will be a guaranteed success for the company.

Secondly, the stores target group is not clear in the argument. It is unclear that the products is general product are targeted to specific age group. The compulsory participation of school children in a fitness-for-life program may not contribute anything to the expected success of the franchise if the products are only for adult. Finally, the all-time high sales of the running shoes and exercising cloth could be the seasonal thing. In summer time people tend to run more outdoors which might be a contributing factor to the surge in sales of those items.

Admittedly, it is of general belief that the health related stores are more successful in the areas where residents are more conscious of their health and lead a healthy lifestyle, but the argument does not provide sufficient evidence and data to support the claim of franchise being a outright success in Plainsville.

In conclusion, the authors conclusion that Nature’s way new franchise in Plainslive will a successful one is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the authors must provide more concrete evidence backed by sales figure of other franchise with similar demographics. The author should also be specific with its target group and its products. Finally, to better evaluate the claim, we would need more information on other similar companies operating in Plainsville area.