To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Why do we need to study the characteristics of the society? By studying the characteristics of the society we come to know about the nature of the people and what are the people thinking, new trends and many others things. I agree with the author on the topic that to understand the important characteristics of a society, major cities should be studied. Cities consists of people from different religion, class, race, sex, caste, age. It is a mixture all the types of citizen of a country that comes to city to fulfill their dreams. City is a place where dreams are made and it never stops for anyone.

As the city consist of different people, so their approach and opinion towards different things are different. By studying it one would come to know about the different thoughts of the society. This is very helpful in a business and cooperate world. Let us understand this by an example. If a company wants to launch a product than it could conduct a survey and based on the result, they could come to know how the people in general would react to their product. If the overall result is bad than the company could make the following changes before launching their product. This will help them to increase profit.

If the same survey happens in a rural area, the result may not be accurate. In cities people are more open to new trends and adapt to changes more quicker than in rural areas. In rural area the people usually belonging to same caste, religion, and they usually do not adapt to change quicker. In rural area the people are very close to their roots of cultural and heritage. By, studying the rural area one can only come to know about the cultural value and the practices of the older time. The overall characteristics of a society would not be known.

I am not saying that the rural area is backward or they do not accept the new trends of the society, I am saying that they usually take more time to accept a thing compare to a city. In major city there are development much faster and new technologies are used. So, people have to adapt themself with them or they would be left behind in the race. So, here the people are more open to new things and ideas. So, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, studying the major city would surely give a better result than studying a rural area.