To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The given statement is related to the characteristics of the society. Our society is formed with different communities, cultures, religions, and different beliefs. In addition, society consists of cities, suburban, and remote. To understand the important characteristics of a society, it is important to study cities because cities can have different aspects of the society. But just studying the cities we can not understand cities as a whole. I have a different view than presented in the statement. The following paragraphs will explain why it is not enough just by studying the major city to understand the society.

Last year, the Ministry of Tourism and Culture, the government of Nepal studied the major cities. However, later one non-government organization scrutinized the report published by Ministry, they found that there is incomplete information about the society. In that report most important aspects of the society were missing; different characteristics of the people, their languages, religions, and traditional cultures were missing. It is also important to study the city to understand the societies, although, it is not enough to understand which is clearly shown by the report of the Ministry.

Another piece of evidence is that an international non-government organization came here to Nepal and they tried to understand the characteristics of Nepali societies; for that, they started to study major cities of Nepal after six months of study they did not understand all the characteristics of the society then they started a study of different parts of Nepal and understood the more comprehensive characteristics of the society. So this evidence also shows that to understand the characteristics of any society it is important to study places other than cities. Obviously, it is important to study the cities for more understanding but it is not enough so one should study not only cities but also other parts of society.

Some people argue that one must study the society to understand the characteristics of the society. Although the argument can be denied completely, shreds of evidence and examples show that one should study diverse areas of society to understand society because there is a difference between the cities and remote or suburban from culture, economic status, and religion which is the real scenario of Nepal.

Summarising the above-mentioned pieces of evidence and examples related to the importance of studying different parts and aspects of the society, one must study different parts of the study to understand the characteristics of the society.