To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

Characteristic's are somewhat important in each and every thing whether it's living or non-living. Many cities or even states or countries are recognised based on their ethnicity, culture, tradition, nature and many more. Characteristic's not only vary from place to place but also from person to person, need to need, use to use and many more. Nothing is ideal or extrapolate in world, each and every thing is made or invented according to the need and necessity. Characteristic's are thing which are either created or inherited like heritage, so one can't judge or deem something on just analysing major cities.

First is the example of Cities like Mumbai, Delhi and Pune which are metropolitan and important cities in India. The air quality index here are higher than best suitable or recommended by the researcher's or expert's. And their are some cities in India like Shimla, Uttarakhand where air quality index is way less than posit one. If any researcher studying pollution can't conclude that India is polluted based on analysis of major cities. This situation might be aroused due to industrialization, deforestation, heavy pollution from vehicles.

Second is the example of AajTak, one of the renowned news channel of India. When they survey for exit polls of Parliament Election's, they can just survey major cities due to heavy density of population. It will eventually be biased if done so, to avoid getting fallacious they always try to include idyllic, bucolic or outskirts of major cities to nullify or mitigate the effect and make predictions more plausible. Doing so will not only affect the credibility but also candidness or trustworthiness.

Third is the example of Cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore and Hyderabad where Government including Central, State and Local are working hard to make life easy and affordable by employing various institution's to develop infrastructure for hospitals, industry, houses and many more. If major cities are having such facilities or amenities, it doesn't mean that outskirts of same cities are also well developed and it doesn't need to pay attention.

I don't agree with the given statement, as we can't understand important characteristics of society just analysing major cities. As tradition, facilities and various other factor's of characteristic's varies from place to place, need to need, use to use and person to person too.