Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and s

History repeats itself - this is a trite running down to us from centuries. If this is assumed to be true, then current events do face similar situations from past thus we can always look up to the conclusions of actions of people from the past and learn from it thereby producing an efficient solution. People in leadership position cater to a larger population and hence is expected to not falter in taking any decision. And in order to understand human behavior and make astute decisions it is important for draw useful and relevent insights from historical events. Hence I disagree with the statement .

Today's political system has evolved from monarchy or dictator based system to democratic system. To understand the pillars of democracy and to get the essence of its functions, it is important to look back at events that lead to democracy and its fundamentals principles. For a leader to run it efficiently, it is important to not repeat mistakes that were made in the past and look at improvise on leadership behaviors that were successful. To understand this, Mahatma Gandhi followed non violence to fight British rule as he had understood that weapon of violence will produce more turbulence in the society than democracy, he drew this conclusion from various attempts at gaining democracy from Britishers by leaders of the past like Rani Laxmi Bai, Bhagat Singh and many more who chose violence as a way out of the Brithish rule.

History is rife with examples of people drawing learnings from the past leaders to enhance their leadership. Some people may however argue that experience and astute morals also plays a crucial role in leadership and they are sufficient to make for a good leader. Thiss can be true in cases where leadership is as simple as say being a teacher. A teacher will through experience gain enough expertise to deliver the teachings. Therefore the definition of leadership also plays a role in proving the statement as completely false.

To conclude, it is desirable for leaders to look back once in a while, learn from mistakes of the past look produce better decisions.