Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

It is said that a person's nature is mostly defined as the cummulative of peer group he/she has. The thought process and ideas are mostly influenced by people we spend our time with and peers play a crucial role in that. And if a person is at a leadership role, he is looked upon as an inspiration for a cause and a person with sound moral judgement. However, a leadership role does not revolve around just one person, it involves a group of people and actions associated with this group directly links to the leader and hence I support the statement that it's important to maintain the respect of the peers.

To illustrate this behavior, Mahatma Gandhi has proven this statement in a very convincing manner. Mahatma Gandhi was a great leader,freedom fighter, his lead was followed and respected by a lot of Indians but his accomplishments were not just the result of his sole efforts and morals. The accomplishment he was trying to acheive were reinforced by fact that he respected the suggestions presented by his peers and took took criticism in a positive sense and concluded every action considering everybody's suggestion.

History has also presented us with various examples that can serve as a paradigm of a successful leadership where the leader has peer groups with expertise in different fields (can be called advisors) who would present their thoughts and criticism on actions and improve the roadmap to lead a path in the most successful and efficient way.

From what is commonly seen in the world, there is no 'one man army', there is always a group of people behind every construction and implementation of an idea and respecting other's option is one of the few prerequisites for a good leadership.