Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

In contemporary society it has become quite common for the people to hide their realities or truths and portray the world the image of themselves they want to manifest. In this society you are respected or valued for the kind of image you have created for yourselves. I would opine that I agree with the prompt for these following reasons.

Firstly, in contemporary world, everyone feels the need or the validation for being accepted in the society. If we take a social media influencer as an example, the real life of the influencer is very different from the reel life of the person. Everything that is shown to the world is shown with lots of aesthetics and luxuries. The influencer deceives the world by flaunting his/her perfect, impeccable body whereas in real life they too have flaws. This all is done for gaining more followers and paid promotions and to gaining more recognition in the world.

Secondly, if we consider the scenario of job applicants, their situation is the not different. When they are appearing for the interview, the first impression of the person is made based on the attire of the applicant. They are judged for the countenance, how presentable they look, rather than how cognizant the person is. In order the make first impression good in front of the interviewers one must appear appealing and tidy. This increases the changes for getting selected.

In addition to that when we go to certain places, to maintain the decorum of that place one must dress modestly. For example, if a person has to attend a dinner party in a luxurious hotel he must follow the dress code otherwise he will be judged by the people in that surrounding and in the worst cases one might not be allowed to enter the hotel if not dressed properly.

I think the social norms in the world has made is necessity for the people to create an appealing image and cast a shadow on the reality of their life. However various campaigns are being carried out for encouraging people to flaunt the real them and let everyone is beautiful in the way they are. I’d like to conclude by saying that everyone should be happy the way they are in this world and reveal the reality they live in.