Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that the number of seats for each subject in the universities should be distributed equally between the genders. In my opinion however, such preset and filtration would ruin the opportunity for some students who would be qualified if we follow the merit base criteria.

Having the same number of man and women on all courses is unrealistic I believe, because hardly we can find the same number of eligible applicants on each group. While for some courses there are the same number of female and male candidates, the other courses are more popular with one gender than the other, for example in my country, engineering courses tend to attract more male applicants, or nursing is more applied by women. But the problem is that we cannot have the hypothesis of equal distribution of eligible candidates on each group of genders. By eligible I intend those who have tried harder and prepared more for the university.

In fact the real question is that which student is eligible and how can we set merit base criteria? I believed that institutions should continue to select the best candidate for each course based on their qualifications and achievements i.e. their related CVs. In this condition everyone is given the same chance of admission regardless to which gender belongs. Otherwise, the equal arrangement of the seats not only will prevent many deserving candidates from gaining admission just because they belong to the other gender, it would also cause some side effects such as destroying the competition spirit between students.

I believe gender segregation would not provide equal opportunities for every applicant, so I strongly disagree with such unwise and unfair criterion, and would say merit should be evaluated.