More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Day by day city-life becomes more popular between people who live in rural areas. While there are many opportunities in large cities there are some major drawbacks. In my opinion, governments could do much more to improve city life for the average inhabitant.

The main problem for everyone who hopes to migrate to a large city is that the cost of living is likely to be much higher than that in a town or village. Residents of cities have to pay much higher prices for education, housing, food, treatment, transport and even taxes. In extreme conditions this can lead to homelessness, homelessness is becoming more common in cities. Second issue is that urban areas tend to suffer from social problems such as higher crime and poverty rates in comparison with rural areas. There are several explanations why higher populated residential crowding produces higher crime rates. For a violent crime to occur, it takes two people to tangle. Criminals cannot kill, rob, or assault someone unless there is a “someone” to assault. In a large city, there are many potential targets of violence. Besides, people in small towns and villages have a great bonding and they know each other very well, which is quite the opposite in a city. Third issue is environmental issues (air pollution, noise) and traffic jam. Population in cities is increasing so does the number of vehicles that pollute the air. Due to that streets and public transport systems are usually overcrowded. As an outcome, city life can be unhealthy and stressful.

Nonetheless, in my opinion there are various steps that governments could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, the government should have comprehensive economical plans for controlling the prices of daily merchandises, free education and health insurance for everyone. Make job opportunities for people to handle their basic needs. Also investing money in the building of affordable or social housing is a good idea. Secondly, the state could provide some good programs to educate people, such as TV shows, radios, and short commercials and so on.

Finally, there are some solutions for the air pollution that governments could take. Politicians have the power to ban vehicles from city centers and promote the use of cleaner public transport, which would help to reduce both air pollution and traffic congestion. in Tehran, for example, in certain streets there are Traffic restrictions for drivers that helped slightly to curb traffic problem. Even it is better to allocate more budgets for researching on clean fuels to replace Fossil ones. Another option would be to develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, in order to reduce the pressure on major cities.

In conclusion, although there are some major problems in city life but governments could implement a range of measures to enhance the quality of life for all city residents.