Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities should require students to take courses from different fields as it would be beneficial to both the students and the society as a whole. It can be beneficial to the student because it will help them thrive in this increasingly multidisciplinary dependent world and it would be boon to the world as people can come up with solutions to the problems which were not solved with knowledge only in one field.

First, in the present world, it is highly impossible for a particular field to survive without depending on other fields. One such example is the field of Robotics. Robotics is a culmination of Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science Engineering. And if we look at the applications of Robotics in today's world, there are innumerable applications that didn't even strike mankind a decade ago. If a student who is studying Mechanical Engineering is required to take a few courses in Electrical Engineering and a few other courses in Computer Science Engineering, the student would very well be equipped to go into the field of Robotics after Graduation and excel in the field without many hiccups.

Secondly, the possibility of creating an innovation is very high only if a student is exposed to the courses from different fields. In the past, inventions were possible even if a person had a very good knowledge only in one field. But the present scenario necessitates interdisciplinary knowledge to create an innovation. For example, let us take the case of Autonomous Electric Cars. The concept of Autonomous cars wouldn't have been possible if it was not for the combination of Mathematics, Computer Science, Mechanical Engineering and

Electrical Engineering. Mechanical Engineering deals with the Structural Strength of the Car, Electrical Engineering deals with the power supply, and last but not the least, Mathematics and Computer Science deals with the autonomous behaviour of the car. It is because of this technology that the burden of riding a car will be reduced by manifold and the safety of the ride will increase in leaps and bounds.

Having said that, it may not always be the case that requiring students to take courses from different fields would be beneficial for them. In fact, they can be a distraction. This is because there are a few fields that would require a deeper knowledge of only that particular field to make breakthroughs. In this context, one cannot overlook the field of Astronomical Physics. Only a person whose mind is completely submerged in the field of Astronomical Physics will come up with new and fascinating findings. Compelling such students to take courses from other fields like Management or Banking will only cause hindrance to their actual field of study.

Hence, it would be very beneficial for the students and the world as whole if Universities necessitate the students to take courses from different fields as the world is increasingly depending upon multidisciplinary tasks, it would be very easy to come up with an innovation that would benefit the world in ways that were once thought unsurmountable.