Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

The advancements in communication technologies in the last three decades have led to more conducive information flow and consequently sparked the growth of an interconnected, globalized society. In order to keep up with this paradigm shift, there has been a rising emphasis on the inclusion of more diverse courses in student curricula across all levels of formal education. The prompt suggests that universities mandate the inclusion of courses outside a student's field of study. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that students should consider taking up courses that challenge them to explore beyond their domain of interest for two reasons.

The emergence of cosmopolitan trends has stimulated a radical change in current societies, which requires a shift to a more liberal outlook regarding various social and economic factors on the part of its people. An exposure to various subjects like arts, literature and finance via college courses enhances the student's understanding of different facets of society and helps to broaden her perspective, allowing her to have an informed opinion regarding various societal factors. For instance, a student majoring in computer science and specializing in artificial intelligence may be tempted to avoid taking up courses related to humanities since they are seemingly unrelated to her interests. However, the recent AI boom and the rising concerns of machine learning models being used for nefarious purposes seem to suggest that students looking to pursue a career in AI must be educated regarding the ethical implications of their work and how it might possibly affect the masses in general. A professional well-versed in both the technical and ethical aspects of her domain would be able to solve pressing technical problems without compromising on the safety concerns, benefiting all parties concerned. That being said, would the recent concerns regarding AI "going rogue" and ending humanity be mollified to some extent if the makers of these technologies strive to create products that are "by the people, for the people"? The general public opinion seems to suggest so.

Taking up courses from other specializations also acts a strong impetus for students to study and perhaps master a seemingly important, but "boring" topic that they would otherwise never be bothered to explore, and hence miss out. For instance, a student majoring in fine arts might hugely benefit from taking up a course in finance, as even a fear of not doing well in the exams would compel her to go through the subject material in depth, and perhaps even retain some of this acquired knowledge for life. This would possibly benefit her in the future, when she might face the decision of investing her savings in high-risk, high-return stocks or less-risk, more stable mutual funds.

A possible point against these arguments might be the fact that taking up unrelated courses leads to a diversion of effort into "unnecessary" channels, which could instead have been used to improve a student's proficiency in her field of interest. However, such a desired proficiency can also be achieved by putting in extra effort along with the courses in which the student majors, with relatively lesser effort than later investing that time to learn an important but unrelated field of study, without the necessary stimulus. Students who put in a sincere effort to take up and master courses which are outside their comfort zone often develop into well-rounded, skilled and empathetic professionals who can drive a country's quantitative progress without harming the interests of its people.