Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Now a day’s people tend to be more flexible when it comes to selecting the career. While studying in the colleges or university, students are primarily focusing on the optional subjects within their courses. This is because the students are more or less inclined towards the matter of subjects which they like the most. The prompts suggest the same scenario presented in the above sentence. I mostly agree with the authors assertion for two main reasons. However, i do concede that deviating from the path of the study by choosing another field of study would give rise to the burden to the students.

First of all, students are tempting more toward the field of study that is something other than the courses they are currently studying in their colleges or school. This is because, for the whole semester if someone is giving more attention toward the primary core subjects then it would definitely be going to create some sort of pressure to the students. If the students are given other optional subject which is not directly related to their field then, it will create opportunity for them to study the other side of the study. And if the optional subject is related to their filed of interest, for example, if the fellow students is a huge fan of soccer and if he is facilitated with the subject (optional) related to the content of soccer, then there might be the chances for him/her to give keen focus toward their study.

Second of all, if students are allowed to choose the course that are not the part of their primary education, then it will create opportunity for the fellow students to do something that is very appreciable for future. For instance, the students might get bore out of their study while attending full of lectures related to their field. And there might be the scenario that, the students might not get interest toward the study thinking of the same repetitive and boring lectures through-out the day. Provided with the optional courses, if the students are being taught with so, with the alternate period through the teaching period then, it will give some sort of relief to the students. They might not think of the same and dull lecture which might come across their way.

However, providing with the extra-curricular activities or the field of study might diverge the thinking of the fellow students, toward the hedonism. Students might think of the field of their interest and give no attention towards their primary study, which might therefore become a burden for their study. It will be difficult for the students to grasp the core of their education knowledge, which will bring about the falling graph for their study. But giving focus toward each field of the student's study, would encourage them to become whatever they want to become in their life.

So, in conclusion, there are more of the positive side for the students if they are allowed to choose some other field of study. It will make them creative, and wise enough to choose their path and to make decision for their future.