University should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study

lt is not uncommon for some to argue that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside his field of study. Proponents of this view would argue that only when a student learns comprehensively can he become fully educated. Yet within that very statement lies some unstated reasons that undermine this kind of thinking. In fact, from my prospective, I believe that the students don’t have to be required to take other causes outside their major to be educated well.

Although under some circumstance, studying additional courses has some advantages. For science and engineering students, if they get the knowledge from other subjects, they may be inspired to do interdisciplinary researching based on the common among different subjects, which possibly promote technological development. Another merit is that for students who have no idea about what major they truly like, they can have another chance to get to know other disciplines, in that case they may find what they are curious about and what they really like.

However, this requirement has more drawbacks which would conversely destroy some students academic learning. Firstly, It is inevitable that taking extra-curriculum classes will take students’ time and energy as they have to spare time to understand a new concept as well as apply the new knowledge into practice. As a consequence, they may have little time to study their major lessons, possibly leading to fails in exam, and even more seriously, they are unable to graduate.

Moreover, learning other courses might be a waste of time for most of the students as it is useless for students to study further and to find dream job. For example, if a student major in computer science is suggested to learn planting, since these two subjects have nothing in common, to study how to plant roses not only does not contribute to his computer learning, but also is not helpful for him to seek a job as a programmer. Although planting can be treated as a manner to relax after busy studying, in general, it is no use for students’ academic improvement.

Thirdly, if every students are asked to learn a variety of subjects, there will be no one to devote themselves into one specific field. As students’ time is limited, if they have to learn too many in a insufficient time, they will be distracted. In that case, everyone knows a little, but no one can tell the core knowledge of one subjects, which is totally a disaster in investigation. Without a comprehensive master of a course, one cannot make an insight into it and cannot make promotion to the theory as well as the experiment.

In conclusion, whether to request students to learn outside their major depend on their ability and demand. For most of the students, concentrating on what field they study will be more helpful for them to be fully educated.