Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities have not only the responsibility to provide students professional education for the purpose of their future career, but also the duty to develop them into responsible citizens of a society. In both aspects, requiring every student to rake a variety of courses outside student’s field of study would be beneficial.

Human society divided knowledge into different discipline and fields. Universities are a manifestation of this methodology as they divided students into different majors. Recently, however, people have been combining knowledge from different disciplines to better assist them in achieving new scientific discoveries and making policies. For example, people are now using computer algorithms to design potential medicine in a more efficient way. Also, game theories helps policy makers to find better solutions in regulating companies in matters of certain action that causes externality. The combination of knowledge and methodologies from different discipline and fields helps solve many problems that may be challenging otherwise.

In the aspect of making well informed decision and being a better citizen in the society, knowledge from different fields is also beneficial. Biology helps people understand the potential harm of food products from contaminated environment. Economy helps people understand who the lowest wage would affect workers. And law prepares people for the circumstances where a lawsuit is required. In addition to it, if we image a society with people who have only knowledge of their own profession, it would be extremely difficult to understand each other and collaborate.

In addition, requiring students taking courses in other fields may help them better understand their real passion for career. Many students in college choose their major based on an imagination rather than a realistic understanding of their own future professional. Having students taking courses in different fields may help them better decide their own profession.

In conclusion, I would agree that the advantages of requiring students to take courses outside them own fields would be tremendous, would outweigh the disadvantages it may bring, for both the individual students and the society as a whole.